Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Committees And Boards

Decrease Text Size Default Text Size Increase Text Size |
Print Link

Arctic Landscape

Town Council establishes committees and boards to research issues and make recommendations to Council.

Council Boards and Committees 

Administration Committee

The Administration Committee meets on a monthly basis during the week in between Town Council meetings.  It provides direction and recommendations to Council and staff regarding the administrative and financial matters of the Town of Inuvik.

The appointed members are Councillor Joe Lavoie, Councillor Darrell Christie and Councillor Natasha Kulikowski.

Public Works Committee

The Public Works Committee meets on a monthly basis during the week in between Town Council meetings. It provides direction and recommendations to Council and staff regarding the operation and management of the Town's public services department.

The appointed members are Councillor Clarence Wood, Councillor Darrell Christie and Deputy Mayor Steven Baryluk.

By-law Review Committee 

The By-law Review Committee's main function is to conduct a continuous review and analysis of Town of Inuvik by-laws as per a prioritized schedule.

The appointed members are Councillor Alana Mero, Councillor Clarence Wood and Councillor Kurt Wainman.

Inuvik Recreation, Parks and Library Advisory Board

The Inuvik Recreation, Parks and Library Advisory Board was established to ensure that balanced and varied recreation programs exist within and for our community.  

Councillor Natasha Kulikowski is the board's appointed Council member. There are also several public members on this board.

Lottery Committee

The Lottery Committee was established to review lottery and bingo applications and to assign the dates to applicants.  The committee meets semi-annually, usually in March and September.

Councillor Alana Mero is the committee's appointed Council member.  There are also several public members on this committee.

External Boards and Committees 

Development Appeal Board
The development appeal board is activated when the Town receives an application for appeal on development taking place within the community.
Board of Revision
The board of revision meets annually as per the Property Assessment and Taxation Act to hear property assessment complaints.  The Board is made up of members of the public and councillors.

Committee and Board Vacancies 

Development Appeal Board Member (DAB)


  • The Development Appeal Board purpose is to hear those appeals as required by the Community Planning and Development Act of the Northwest Territoriesfrom persons affected by a decision of the development officer.


  • To act as a Quasi-Judicial Board and conduct impartial, fair and timely hearings.


  • The Board shall consist of a Chairperson, a member from City Council and at least three (3) members from the general public.

Meeting times:

  • Hearings are held on a as required basis and must be held within (30) days of the receipt of an appeal

Appointment term:

  • Appointed concurrently for Three-Year (3) terms by resolution of Council


  • Employees of the Town of Inuvik cannot be Members

Member qualifications:

  • A keen interest in development within the Town of Inuvik

  • Ability to assess information and make objective decisions

  • Ability to provide rational solutions to complex problems

  • Have a general knowledge of the Town

  • Understand the Town's Zoning Bylaw and the Community Planning and Development Act

  • The ability to commit the required time on a year round basis

  • The ability to speak in public and communicate effectively with parties to the appeal

  • Must sign and abide by the Code of Conduct


Applicants who are interested can contact the Development Officer (867)-777-8614 or email